Cam & Cal

Livin' the C^2 Dream

So I Just Don’t Think I Like Buckwheat .

The title of my post pretty much sums up my most resounding thought of the day (don’t judge me for “the most resounding thought of the day” sentence, but if you want to judge, go ahead, I actually won’t even know! ACTUALLY, when someone says “don’t judge” what do you do? Well I don’t know about you, but I just go a head and judge…in my head! I just keep it to myself and smile (maybe) and carry on with life. So in that sense…carry on dear people, carry on!).

ANYWAY, I have made some buckwheat pancakes and then today I made buckwheat corn muffins. Sounds fantastic, eh? No, not “eh”, more like “uhhhhhh…I guess if there is nothing to eat in the house I will have a buckwheat corn muffin.” Here is my picture – oops, they look so unappetizing, I am not going to show you. Sorry…kinda sorry.

But here is the recipe…it is coming, I just need to add my disclaimer: I should add that I only had 1 egg (recipe calls for 2) and I didn’t use all that sugar and added a little applesauce, oh and decreased the butter to 3 tbsp. HOWEVER, even though, I made slight alterations, I don’t think that if I followed the recipe exactly that they would turn out much better. Do you think I am too proud to admit that my alternative ingredients could have ruined it? No. Stop. Don’t think that. Go ahead, judge. But it is not true. Do you think that maybe buckwheat flour just has a very distinct flavor that it just may make anything it comes in contact with a little “uhhhh”? Yes. Move with that thought. Keep thinking that. Go ahead and judge because it is true.

Rant over. Start recipe:

Buckwheat Corn Muffins

1 cup buckwheat flour

1/2 cup corn meal

1/4 cup sugar

2.5 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

2 eggs, beaten (but not until they are black and blue ;-)…he he, I made a stupid funny. Ya, go Cal!)

1 1/4 cup milk

1/4 cup butter, melted

Mix those first 5 ingredients in a bowl. Mix. Mix. Mix. Cute. Then add the last ingredients. Mix. Mix. Don’t over-mix. Scoop the batter in muffin trays (greased). Put it in the oven at 400 degrees F for 15-20 mins. ANd mark them with an “uuhhhh” for someone who really actually likes Buckwheat flavor.

VIOLA! (humm…viola, I meant that “ta-da” word, but it kind looks like that name of the stringed- instrument-brother of the violin…)

Everyone likes pictures, so here is a picture of what I picture every time I hear “buckwheat”. My dad would call us girls “buckwheat”…it was a term of endearment 🙂

The movie my little sister and I would watch over and over again

Buckwheat and Porky

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oh, and let us not forget my buckwheat, just in case you forgot:

I am definitely sure this man likes the word "engineerment"

Just because I don’t like buckwheat flour doesn’t mean I don’t like buckwheat…I just needed to clear the air on that. I don’t want my butt to be bitten…hahhaha!

Well until I feel like I want to type again, ta-ta for now!

2 comments on “So I Just Don’t Think I Like Buckwheat .

  1. camandcal
    April 6, 2012

    follow the recipe!!!

    • camandcal
      April 6, 2012

      Cam, did u even read the blog?!?! Buckwheat no bueno…I think you agree. 😉

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 5, 2012 by in Uncategorized.
April 2012
S M T W T F S
« Mar   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
Cam & Cal

Livin' the C^2 Dream

emilykeepshouse

Adventures and accidents in cookery and keeping house.

raudette

food. fashion. frenchies.

